Image Crediting & Editing

Posted on Updated on

kitten-468203_1280

“Kitten-468203_1280” by Aniko Boros, licensed by CC0

I suppose that a good portion of the population is equally as captivated by kitten (and other animal) pictures on the internet as I am. Perhaps this is just wishful thinking, but come on! They are pretty adorable. Naturally, I chose this image from Pixabay.com to play with because it really resonated with my summer vibes.

hockneyd5eb74d90b9911fd984a9fe6e35893d63f167c6b

“Hockney Kitty” is a derivative of “Kitten-468203_1280” by Aniko Boros, licensed by CC0.

I have posted a few images here, because they were just too fun not to share. As a former student of art history, I was immediately drawn to bighugelabs.com‘s feature “Hockneyizer.” The editor allows you to choose whether you want the polaroid frames or not. You can even use flickr images to write on the frames. I thought this image would work great in conjunction with thinglink.com as a presentation device. While you could use the plain image to embed different links, I think this kind of broken up collage-y visual would add an element of intrigue. The editor also allows the creator to pick how many frames they want the image to divide into, setting easy limits for research projects i.e. “Use the Hockneyizer and thinglink to present 5 interesting links about your topic.”

d4ZWq9Q

“Summer Kitten” is a derivative of “Kitten-468203_1280” by Aniko Boros, licensed by CC0.

Anyone else feeling this way? I actually branched out and used the imgur.com meme creator here. It is a super easy and user-friendly tool. I think meme creation can be used for SO many school projects. Memes are fun and funny. Kids like them, adults like them, they are short, sweet, and to the point. Often they add an element of humor that can be missing from everyday classroom instruction. My first thought to integrate this into the curriculum was for each student to create a meme about a historical figure. They could be serious and sum up achievements, or humorous, potentially exposing lesser-known facts about the person pictured. I love the idea of digging deeper than the average history text to learn more about renown figures. To me, this kind of project lends itself to social justice oriented work (I’m thinking minorities, women, veterans, etc.).

4 thoughts on “Image Crediting & Editing

    Ally Raines said:
    May 29, 2015 at 1:04 am

    I totally agree that memes have so much possibility in school projects! ImageChef also has a meme creator section.

    Like

    suekimmel said:
    May 29, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    You have all the parts here with a few extra words that do help the reader understand the citation. I would probably cite this as:
    Boros, Aniko. Cat-######. CC0. with appropriate hot links. I’m thinking the photo has a unique title – pixaby seems to use a generic word followed by a number. I think the tags are an okay choice but probably not a unique title.

    Like

      agree001 responded:
      May 31, 2015 at 12:29 am

      Whoops! You are correct. I didn’t realize the word + numbers were an actual title. I’ll make the edit now. Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

    Karen Gareis said:
    June 7, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    Yay! I figured out how to comment, didn’t realize I had to click on the title of the post then the comments section appeared. I love memes and so do kids of all ages, I just wish I was funnier I guess, or more creative to come up with the really good ones. Students will gravitate to a project like that and are probably more experienced than us. Love the design of your blog and your honesty in sharing your story, Ashley, I look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

