Confession: Infographics overwhelm me.

Posted on

This is a true story: every time I see an infographic, my eyes kind of glaze over. I have a really difficult time absorbing information from them because there is just a lot going on. I’m an image OR text kind of lady, mixing both can sometimes visually confuse me. I feel like Garr Reynolds (2014) backs me up here. In Presentation Zen (2nd ed.), he spends a lot of page space discussing how unnecessary so many parts of so many designs are. Beyond unnecessary, they are distracting.

All that being said, I was a little distressed taking on this project. I knew I wanted to make something simple, not too long, not too dense, because there must be other people like me who tend to glaze. For this image, I used Piktochart. Full disclosure – I read all my classmates’ posts before diving in, and gleaned some wisdom from their experience. Piktochart was relatively easy to use, largely because I used a template. You have to create an account, or sign in using an existing account. I used my school Google account, because I think that’s what it’s there for. Piktochart is a freemium tool, meaning that parts of it are free, but some really cool parts require a “level up” (a.k.a. $). One major bummer for this is that the images you can download are limited by using only a free account. I hope you guys can read my text, because I didn’t realize how small it would be until after I finished and saw my download options.

I would love to do this project in school, but I think it would be best suited for an older audience (maybe 8-12 grades). Part of what is appealing to me is that you have to have your information organized and understand the story you want to tell before you take this on. To me, it was easy to make an image after that. That being said, had I veered off-template I might be singing a different tune. I think this would help students learn to market their message (headlines, tags, abstracts, quick pitches, etc.). This is always a useful skill – you want to be able to communicate quickly and easily, because that’s what is required now!

I used a color scheme that was gentle on the eyes, popping white text against a darker background. I used a color in the same family to emphasize and highlight, and tried to pull the same color throughout the image. This was a little difficult because the clipart images they offered were a little skimp. I’m happy with the ones I found, but it would be nice to be able to customize them. There is a lot I would change about this image, for instance – I didn’t realize what a “block” was until the end when I thought, “Oh my gosh, I forgot to cite!!” Therefore, this is a little short on info for me. Maybe this was a blessing in disguise, since I tend to be wordy.

Fun fact: I almost became a birth doula, and am still considering becoming certified in the future. I am interested in empowering women to make holistic decisions about their health and bodies, so to me this is an indispensable job. I hope you enjoy learning a little more about what doulas can do, and that this design presents that information in a visually appealing way.

Green, A. (2015). Doulas in the US.
Green, A. (2015). Doulas in the US.
Leave a Reply

