Kudos & Inspo: Library Website Round-up

Posted on Updated on

Like a lot of my classmates, looking at other school library websites has left me feeling both intimidated and inspired. I checked out Library Girl’s 5 Things Every School Library Website Should Have, browsed websites, read the National Library of New Zealand’s advice for Developing Your Web Presence and watched an NZ librarian build her web presence from the ground up, browsed even more websites, and then read through Rebecca Buerkett’s (2014) Knowledge Quest article Where to Start: Creating Virtual Library Space and finally took her advice – “don’t be intimidated by all of the choices and decisions—jump in!” (p. E27).

Yes – these are all the steps I went through before I even decided on what two school library websites I would share on my blog. I had to learn what should be there before I could judge how functional they were!

This is what I found:

  • Collins Hill High School Media Center – I adore this website because it is student, parent, and teacher friendly. Many of the websites I looked at shared book recommendations or favorites, but when you add a teacher’s name to the recommendation they become human endorsers.  The tech tools are presented simply with descriptions and potential uses. The stream of “Read” posters at the bottom of the page connects to the student body because, well, they are part of it. There are easy links to involve students in events, research links and citation help, tech tools, teacher resources, and more. While I would make some changes in the visual design, the layout and information on this page are both on point.
  • Hanover High School Library – This website is so aesthetically appealing because of it’s simplicity. The top banner presents a bold message (white letters on dark background for the win). The menu above it is clean, functional, and unobtrusive to the design. There are colorful links which add the visual interest you would expect when looking at a library page, followed by subcategories which present snippets of news and events. The info on the page is heavily research-oriented, but I like that they included class projects right in the menu – no hunting around the page to find help for student assignments.
  • Lounsberry Hollow’s Virtual Learning Center – I couldn’t NOT include this site. It is busy to say the least, but I’m not hesitant to call it comprehensive. I like the use of widgets and glogster on the front page (although I think maybe it would be less overwhelming to use one or the other). This also happened to be the only site that fully stated the mission of the library, as well as explained the program/what a school librarian does. There are so many resources for teachers, links to guide ethical research, club pages, and fun web tools. Deb Schiano – major kudos! 

Hope these pages spread some light on school library web presence for my fellow 602 classmates. My weebly will be linked here when I’m finished!

References:

Buerkett, R. (2014). Where to start? Creating virtual library spaces. Knowledge Quest, 42(4). E23-E27. Retrieved from <http://www.ala.org/aasl/sites/ala.org.aasl/files/content/aaslpubsandjournals/knowledgequest/docs/KQ_MarApr_WheretoStart.pdf&gt;

Leave a Reply

